Fireworks & Fiber

I hope everyone had a wonderful July 4th holiday.  I wanted to drop a little note about my travels over the weekend, ’cause I got to visit a couple of really cool places.  For the first time in quite a few years, I got the chance to vacation with all of my 4 sisters, their families, and my father.  We ventured up to Gatlinburg, Tennessee for a little mountain retreat and I’d have to say that it was quite pleasant.  Before I set out on my seven hour journey from Savannah, I searched the web for where I might be able to find some fiber goodies in Gatlinburg.  I only found one place, and I’ll tell ya right now that it was quite possibly one of the best fiber shops I’ve ever visited.  The name of the shop is Smoky Mountain Spinnery and its located just off the main road that runs through downtown Gatlinburg in Winery Square. 

Here is the shop’s information.  Nancy is the owner and her husband owns the fly shop right next door.  So women, send your hubbies there while you shop because you’ll need plenty of time to take in all there is to see and feel. 

 

 

This is Nancy Thompson, the owner.  She is super nice and willing to answer any questions you have.  She even gave me a quick lesson on how to wash the locks I bought.  Thanks Nancy….it worked great!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not only did Nancy have tons and tons of yarn to choose from, she had more loose fiber than I’ve ever seen in one place.  There was lots of lucious locks, many different colors of wool roving, and even several different naturally colored cotton rovings.  I didn’t get any of this lovely cotton, and now I’m sort of kicking myself in the butt for it. 

 

 

 

 

 

This picture is from the Spinnery’s website, and shows a nice assortment of the fibers they offer.

 

 

 

 

 

Ooooooooo, cashmere!!  This was by far my favorite fiber that Nancy had.  It was the first time I’ve seen loose cashmere fiber, and it was ohhhhhhhhh sooooooo soft!!!   She also had several other somewhat uncommon fibers like buffalo and llama. 

 

 

 

I couldn’t quite pinch my pocketbook enough for the cashmere but I did manage to squeeze it enough for lots of natural and dyed locks, some mint and raspberry merino wool, and a silk/merino batt in a mixture of….you guessed it, the same colors.  So, how many of you tend to grab for the same colors all the time?  I just can’t help it, I love those jewel tones something fierce. 

 

 

 

For any of you craftaholics who may be traveling through the Gatlinburg area anytime soon, take it from me…you’ll find the best local handmade goods at Arrowcraft, a shop and gallery of goods from the Southern Highland Craft Guild.  Its located just in front of Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts, a visual arts complex that offers two-week workshops in many craft fields.

 

I got these fabulous featherwood earrings at the craft shop.  They called my name from the corner when I walked in.  I couldn’t resist….they’re wood!!

Leave a Reply

